Home >Women in Logistics (UK) Annual Awards shortlist announced

Women in Logistics (UK) Annual Awards shortlist announced

02 September 2013

Networking and support group, Women in Logistics UK  has announced the shortlist for its annual awards to celebrate the talent in the industry. The winners, selected by public vote, will be announced at the Women in Logistics Charity Ball and Awards dinner on 20th September.

This year, there are two awards for companies and two for individuals who have have made remarkable contributions to the logistics industry.

The Company of the Year award 2013 sponsored by The Forton Group, is awarded to a company in the UK logistics sector who has most impressed the judges over their commitment to the recruitment and development of women. The shortlisted companies are Premier Farnell, Royal Mail Group and Unipart Logistics.

The shortlisted companies for the SME of the Year Award 2013 sponsored by Pepsico are BiS Henderson, Franceline and LoveFreight.

"We have seen the number of entries to this year's awards increase threefold, which really shows the interest in this sector. In all the categories, the shortlisted companies and individuals have shown real thought leadership on gender equality, and had a clear vision for the future," says Women in Logistics, vice chair, Clare Bottle.

The individual categories have been judged by Professor Richard Wilding of Cranfield University.

"There were so many excellent candidates to the Woman of the Year award, we took the decision to have 6 woman on our shortlist, rather than the 4 we had planned. So we're encouraging as many people as possible to visit the voting site to see what the outstanding women in our sector have achieved," continued Clare.

Woman of the Year sponsored by Search Consultancy, and Young Woman of the Year sponsored by Manpower are both looking for ambitious and high-performing individual making a remarkable contribution and who champion the achievements of women in the logistics sector.

The shortlists for these two categories are as follows:

Young Woman of the Year

Katie Cox - Royal Mail
Lyndsay Duff - DHD
Rebecca Smith - Norbert Dentressangle
Jennifer F Strachan - Muller Wiseman Dairies

Woman of the Year

Marie Boyer - Franceline
Rebecca Davies - AKW
Anna Gray - Royal Mail
Danielle Kozlowska - Tesco
Wendy Manning - Coca Cola
Pat Smedley - Business on the Move

All the winners will be selected by a public vote, and the voting page can be found on the website www.womeninlogistics.org.uk