Home>Distribution>Transport>Finalists announced in FTA Everywoman awards
Home>Warehouse Storage>Warehouse storage>Finalists announced in FTA Everywoman awards

Finalists announced in FTA Everywoman awards

25 April 2016

22 women within the transport and logistics industry have been announced as finalists in the 2016 FTA everywoman in Transport & Logistics Awards.

The Awards aim to demonstrate the breadth of career opportunities offered by the industry, particularly for women, and those shortlisted are prime examples of this with careers ranging from engineers to warehousing managers and HGV drivers.

This is the ninth year of this prestigious programme which celebrates the women who really shine, whether they are rising stars at the beginning of an exciting career journey or in senior roles sharing their success stories created over several years.   

With the UK’s transport and logistics industry expected to receive double its current investment over the next decade*, everywoman, the FTA and the Awards partners hope to raise the visibility of women excelling in this field, encouraging more females into this exciting sector. The gender imbalance still present within transport and logistics means more women are needed to raise the profile of the sector and to help reduce the skills-gap, ensuring a more diverse and representative workforce.

The finalists for the 2016 FTA everywoman in Transport & Logistics Awards are:

Rising Star of the Year Award: Awarded to a woman aged under 30 who is excelling in her career.

  • Rachel Beckett, Coaching Team Leader, Brighton & Hove Bus and Coach Company, from Brighton & Hove
  • Jodie Hartley, Transport Operations Manager, Yodel, from Hatfield
  • Amy McNamara, Transport FLM, DHL Primark, from Northampton

Driver of the Year Award: Awarded to a woman who is excelling in her role as a driver including HGV, van, motorcycle or passenger transport.

  • Amiee Leeson, HGV Driver, XPO Logistics, fromWorcester
  • Kirsty Sando, Driver Manager, Heathrow Express, from London
  • Loretta Taylor, PCV Driver, Oxford Bus Company, from Oxford

The Warehousing Award: Awarded to a woman who is excelling in her role within a warehousing environment.

  • Emma Buckley, Lead Team Manager, Wincanton, from Stoke-on-Trent
  • Lynsey McIntosh, Operations Director, Oakland International, from Redditch - Worcestershire
  • Helen Page, Team Manager, Mondelez, from Birmingham

Innovation & Sustainability Award: Awarded to a woman who is implementing an innovative operational solution (technologies and processes) that is changing the industry in a positive way.

  • Rebecca Crow, Customer Experience Advisor, FedEx Express, from London
  • Jennifer Henderson, Tunnels and Major Projects Engineer, Transport for London, from London
  • Katherine Trauth, Manager, LNG Marine Fuel Projects, Shell, from London

Team Leader of the Year Award: Awarded to a woman who is leading a team to excel in a way that contributes greatly to the company's success.

  • Wendy Findlay, Fleet Support Engineer, First Glasgow, from Glasgow
  • Caroline Rose, Head of Regional Operations, TNT Express, from London
  • Hannah Self, General Manager, Go-Ahead London, from London
  • Claire Wright, Shipping & Maritime Business Economics Manager, Shell, from London

Leader of the Year Award – sponsored by Asda Logistics Services: Awarded to a woman operating in a senior role, contributing to the strategic direction of the business.

  • Samantha Earl, General Manager, Pertemps Driver Training, from Gloucester
  • Kathryn Lewis, Operations Director, Advanced Supply Chain, from Manchester
  • Louise Whitehouse, Head of Ground Operations, TNT UK Ltd, from Atherstone, Warwickshire  

Industry Champion of the Year Award: Awarded to an individual, male or female, who is an active champion for the industry, playing a vital role in attracting and retaining women in transport and logistics.

  • Jo Field, Head of Campaigns, Communications and Engagement, Transport for London, from London
  • Jean Gowin, Managing Director, Jeanius Consulting Limited, from Milton Keynes
  • Dana Skelley OBE, Director of Asset Management, Transport for London, from London